Boundless Buddy: Victoria Kinnaird

Hey, everyone! Today, I’m here to present an interview I did with Victoria Kinnaird, the author of “Fake It.” Here are her responses:

How did you start your writing career?

I started writing when I was 15 and was fairly certain I wanted to be a writer. I was lucky enough to be accepted to a small programme at a local university that specialised in journalism and creative writing. I started writing the book that would go on to become my debut novel in 2008, while I was still studying. When I finished that book in 2013 (life kept getting in the way), I was in conversation with a few different publishers but I felt they weren’t really ready to publish a YA novel with a bisexual lead character and an all male teen love triangle. My friend Adam introduced me to Linna Drehmel who is published by CHBB and she helped me submit to CHBB. Now we’re 3 years in to a wonderful working relationship and I’m about to release my 4th novel!

Tell us about your current release.

“Fake It” is a bit of a departure for me, because I’ve strayed from my paranormal roots into contemporary romance. I’ve always wanted to write a book about musicians, because music has been such a big part of my life for so long. So really, “Fake It” is my love letter to rock and roll. It’s about kids who love music as much as I do and who find themselves through creating and sharing music.

Tell us about your next release.

After “Fake It”, I’m returning to the universe I created for my Red Sun Rises series. My next book will be “Jasper Hart: Shadow Killer”, which is a spin off novel based on one of the characters from the RSR books.

Has someone helped or mentored you in your writing career?

I’m very lucky to be part of the CHBB family. The owner of the company, Sarah, is one of the most generous, open minded and supportive people of all time. When I was pitching the first Red Sun Rises books to various publishers, there was a lot of interest but some companies were reluctant to take a risk on a YA paranormal romance that was led by a swearing, smoking, bisexual boy. Sarah didn’t bat an eye – or if she did, she hasn’t told me about it! Linna Drehmel was one of the first people to ever read The Red Sun Rises and of course, she pointed me in Sarah’s direction so she’s had a massive impact on me. Then you have Rue Volley, who’s the head of branding and cover design at CHBB. She’s been responsible for all of my book covers and is always pushing me to think bigger and be a better writer. When I told her I want my own Netflix Original series, she didn’t think that was crazy! I owe them all so much.

What is the hardest part of writing your books?

As stupid as it sounds, the hardest part for me is finding the time. I’ve never really struggled with plotting or characterisation, just getting me to sit still long enough to get some words down is the biggest issue!

What are your favorite TV shows?

I have really diverse taste when it comes to music, films and TV. Right now my favourite TV shows are: Daria, Sherlock, Breaking Bad, Mr Robot, Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Gossip Girl!

Fake-ItTitle: Fake It
Series: The Keswick Chronicles Book 1 Author: Victoria Kinnaird
Published: January 23rd, 2016 Publisher: Encompass Ink Teen
Genre: YA Contemporary Romance Content Warning: Minor adult language Recommended Age: 14+

Synopsis: Jack Daveyson grew up with a guitar in his hands and his head full of melodies. Ten years after writing his first riff, he knows exactly what he wants to do with his life – graduate high school, escape Wayville and

hit the road with his band, Forever Fading Echoes.
But it’s a bit hard to launch a band without a singer. Enter JJ Keswick.

JJ is everything Jack isn’t: rich, confident and popular. He also happens to be one of the best singers Jack has ever heard.

Jack reluctantly lets JJ into his band and into his life. The spark between them in the practice studio grows into something neither of them were expecting – a love that threatens to tear their lives apart.

International bestselling author Victoria Kinnaird is proud to introduce you to The Keswick Chronicles, a YA rock’n’roll romance.

Juniper Grove Book Solutions

Pack your guitar, pull on your band tee shirt and turn up the volume – it’s time to meet your new favourite band.

Amazon | GoodReads
Read it FREE with Kindle Unlimited!

About the Author:

Victoria Kinnaird is 28 years old and lives in Glasgow, Scotland. She graduated from the University of Strathclyde in 2009 with a Bachelor of the Arts degree in Journalism, Creative Writing and English Lit. Victoria has been writing since she was 15 years old. She loves rock music, and 11 of her tattoos are related to bands that she loves!

Victoria’s debut novel “The Red Sun Rises” was released in September 2013 by Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing. The

groundbreaking novel, which was praised for featuring an all male teen love triangle, became an Amazon international bestseller on release day. The couple at the heart of the story, Eren and Corbijn, were nominated for the Young Adult and Teen Reader’s Book Couple of the Year award in 2013 and were the only gay couple to be featured.

“The Red Sun Rises” was the first book in The Red Sun Rises Trilogy. The second book in the series, “The Red Sun Rises: Fire and Ash” was released in March 2014 and went on to win The Kindle Hub’s Best YA LGBT Book award in 2014. “(Birth) Day of the Dead” a standalone novella from The Red Sun Rises universe, was released on November 1st 2014.

The last book in the series, “The Red Sun Rises: Seven Letters” was released by Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing in March 2015. The book went on to become an international bestseller, hitting #1 on Amazon UK’s YA LGBT chart on release day.

Victoria’s next release will be “Fake It”, a YA rock and roll romance and the first book in a new series called “The Keswick Chronicles”.

The characters from “Fake It” made their first appearance in “The One and Only”, a short story featured in Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly’s Fractured Fairy Tales Anthology. The anthology was released on December 3rd, 2014. “Fake It” will be released on January 23rd 2016.


Giveaway Details:

There is a tour wide giveaway. Prizes include the following:

Fake It swag bag including a Forever Fading Echoes tee shirt, character cards and a signed poster.

Giveaway is International.
Ends February 7th at 11:59 PM (ET)

Go to the Rafflecopter Giveaway NOWWW!!!!


2 thoughts on “Boundless Buddy: Victoria Kinnaird

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s